Pick two. The table shows their rating, their Openness score and the facts behind it, each from the vendor's own pages.
Want to compare general tools, like two CRMs or two project tools? Every tool page has a Compare button, with no limit.
Grab a 15-minute chat. Sometimes the answer is to build the missing piece next to what you run.
FreshBooks publishes a REST API for accessing your accounting data, but the developer page does not state which plans can use it. freshbooks.com, checked 7 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
You can export clients, invoices, expenses, items, services, vendors and the chart of accounts as CSV files, and reports as CSV or PDF, from your account. support.freshbooks.com, checked 7 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
FreshBooks offers monthly billing, and either side can end the agreement at any time; you pay fees for the rest of the current billing period. freshbooks.com, checked 7 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Zapier lists an integration for FreshBooks that connects its invoicing and accounting features to other apps. zapier.com, checked 7 Oct 2026 (opens in a new tab)
Public REST API, plan access not stated. CSV export of clients, invoices, expenses and more. Monthly billing, cancel any time. On Zapier.
From $6.9 a month
FreshBooks is accounting and invoicing software built for small business owners who want to spend less time on bookkeeping. It handles invoicing, expense tracking, time tracking, payments, and basic accounting reports — all without requiring an accounting degree. Create professional invoices with automatic payment reminders. Accept credit cards, ACH, Apple Pay, Google Pay. Run P&L, tax summary, and expense reports. Lite plan starts at $6.90/month. No free tier — 30-day trial.
FreshBooks is a great fit if you're a freelancer or service-based small business owner who bills clients and wants simple, clean invoicing without learning complicated accounting software. The invoicing tools are polished and easy to use, and accepting payments is straightforward. The downside is there's no free plan, and at $6.90/month the Lite plan limits you to just 5 clients — so growing businesses will need to upgrade quickly.